How can we keep children amused on a long car journey?

Cars are more and more comfortable these days and journeys that used to take 5 hours now take less time, but even so a long journey with children can be a nightmare for parents. What can we do to stop them getting bored?

The first thing to be clear about when starting a long car journey with children is that it doesn’t matter if they get bored a little. It is true that we have to try to make the journey pleasant for everyone, especially young children, so as to ensure that they don’t get nervous or start to cry, but it is not a case of having to keep them amused every second of the way. Nowadays parents are afraid of their children getting bored, but a small dose of boredom stimulates their imagination and makes them seek their own amusement.

It is nevertheless true that if we are going on a very long journey with our children we must be prepared so as to prevent it turning into a nightmare, especially for the poor driver.

Here are some ideas to make journeys more fun:

  1. Make use of new technologies. Tablets and televisions that plug into the car or the mobile can be good entertainment for a couple of hours, but it’s not a good idea to spend the whole of the journey watching television.
  2. Take a break every two hours. You can’t expect to make a very long journey with children in one go. Stop more or less every two hours to stretch your legs, go to the toilet, or have a drink.
  3. Take the opportunity to have a conversation. During our daily life we often hardly find the time to talk with our children; you can use these hours to chat and find out more about their worries, how they are doing at school, etc.
  4. Tell stories. You can tell the traditional stories that the children like or play the game of inventing one as a group activity.
  5. Music has charms to soothe the savage breast. There is nothing better than singing in the car. You can draw up a list of special music for the journey or simply sing your favorite songs.
  6. Revive old travel games. Do you remember all those games you played in the car when you travelled with your family as a kid? They never go out of fashion: looking for makes of car, I-Spy, etc.
  7. Encourage their creativity and imagination. Let them use these hours to create their own game and amuse themselves in their own way. You can also take games that they can play while sitting in their seats, coloring books, etc.
2017-12-27T09:09:55+00:00

Comment occuper les enfants pendant un long trajet en voiture ?

Les voitures sont de plus en plus confortables et les trajets qui auparavant duraient 5 heures prennent désormais moins de temps, cependant faire un long trajet avec des enfants peut se convertir en un cauchemar pour les parents. Comment parvenir à ce qu’ils ne s’ennuient pas?

La première chose qu’il faut savoir lorsque l’on fait un long trajet en voiture avec des enfants est que ce n’est pas la fin du monde s’ils s’ennuient un peu. Il est vrai qu’il faut essayer que le trajet soit agréable pour tous, surtout avec de petits enfants, afin qu’ils ne s’énervent pas ou se mettent à pleurer mais il ne faut pas non plus chercher une occupation à chaque instant du trajet. De nos jours, les parents ont peur que leurs enfants s’ennuient, cependant une petite dose d’ennui favorise leur imagination car ce sont alors eux-mêmes qui cherchent une occupation.

Il est néanmoins vrai que si nous faisons un très long trajet avec nos enfants, nous devons nous préparer pour éviter que celui-ci se convertisse en un cauchemar, surtout pour la personne qui conduit.

Voici quelques idées pour que les trajets soient plus plaisants :

  1. Profitez des nouvelles technologies. Les tablettes, les télés qui se branchent dans la voiture ou le portable peuvent être une bonne distraction pendant une ou deux heures mais il n’est pas souhaitable qu’ils passent tout le trajet à regarder la télévision.
  2. Faites une halte toutes les deux heures. On ne peut prétendre faire un très long trajet d’une traite avec des enfants. Arrêtez-vous environ toutes les deux heures pour vous dégourdir, aller au WC ou prendre quelque chose.
  3. Profitez-en pour avoir une conversation. Au quotidien, très souvent nous trouvons à peine le temps de parler avec nos enfants, vous pouvez donc utiliser ces heures pour bavarder et mieux connaître leurs soucis, si ça marche à l’école, etc.
  4. Racontez des contes. Vous pouvez raconter les contes classiques qui plaisent à l’enfant ou jouer à en inventer un entre tous.
  5. La musique calme les fauves. Il n’y a rien de mieux que de chanter dans la voiture. Vous pouvez créer une liste de musique spéciale pour le voyage ou simplement chanter vos chansons préférées.
  6. Récupérez les anciens jeux de voyage. Vous vous souvenez de tous les jeux auxquels vous jouiez dans la voiture lorsque vous voyagiez avec votre famille ? Ils restent toujours à la mode : chercher des marques de voiture, « il ou elle », etc.
  7. Encouragez leur créativité et imagination. Laissez-les faire pour qu’ils emploient ces heures à créer leurs propres jeux et à s’amuser à leur gré. Vous pouvez également emporter des jeux qu’ils puissent faire assis, tels que livres à colorier, etc.
2018-01-09T12:17:19+00:00

Cars are more and more comfortable these days and journeys that used to take 5 hours now take less time, but even so a long journey with children can be a nightmare for parents. What can we do to stop them getting bored?

(más…)

2017-12-27T09:09:55+00:00

Los automóviles cada vez son más cómodos y los viajes que antes duraban 5 horas ahora duran menos, pero aun así, hacer un trayecto largo con niños puede resultar una pesadilla para los padres. ¿Cómo lograr que no se aburran?

(más…)

2017-10-02T06:08:47+00:00
Ir a Arriba